• Charlotte Gray Chair

    Charlotte Gray is one of Canada’s most renowned authors of literary non-fiction and history. Gray is the author of ten bestsellers, and has been awarded five honorary doctorates and several national awards, including the Pierre Berton Award for distinguished achievement in popularizing Canadian history. She is a Member of the Order of Canada and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Educated at Oxford University and the London School of Economics, Gray began work in Canada in 1979 as a political journalist.

  • Jon Dellandrea Vice-Chair and Secretary

    Dr. Jon S. Dellandrea holds bachelor, masters, and doctoral degrees from the University of Toronto, where he is a Senior Fellow of Massey College, as well as from the University of Oxford, where he served as Pro-Vice-Chancellor from 2005 to 2008. In 2006 Dr. Dellandrea was appointed as a Member of the Order of Canada for his contributions to higher education. He is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre Foundation.

  • John Fraser Founding Chair

    John Fraser is the President and CEO of the National NewsMedia Council. He is also a journalist, author, and academic who served as the fourth master of Massey College for almost two decades. The author of eleven books, Fraser has received several honorary degrees and in 2002 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. A past Chair of the Canadian Journalism Foundation, he is currently a mentor at the Trudeau Foundation.

  • Shayne Tryon Treasurer

    Shayne Tryon is a retail strategist, experienced in leading business transformation. His passion for teamwork and tackling the toughest challenges has helped him successfully grow revenues and lead organizational change. Shayne is currently Divisional Vice President, Sales & Service, at Hudson's Bay Company. He holds an MBA from the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto and a BA from the University of British Columbia.

  • Jane Huh Director

    Jane Huh is a collaborative lawyer whose practice focuses on alternative dispute resolution and out-of-court settlements. She works with families and organizations to formulate solutions and to negotiate agreements that achieve optimal results. In 2006 Huh founded the art advisory firm Art Acquisitions Inc. and has worked with private art collectors, architects, designers, contemporary art galleries, and organizations based in Toronto, New York, and London. She earned her MA in Art History at the University of Toronto.

  • Michelle Koerner Director

    Michelle Koerner has had a long association with the arts and education, serving on numerous boards and committees. She has held senior positions with the Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto International Film Festival, Rogers Broadcasting, and TVOntario. She is on the board of Canada’s National Ballet School and the executive of Partners in Art. She is also a member of the National Gallery of Canada at the Venice Biennale and the NGC Foundation Board.

  • Sarah Milroy Director

    Sarah Milroy was editor and publisher of Canadian Art from 1991 to 1996, and the co-founder of the Canadian Art Foundation. She served as chief art critic of The Globe and Mail from 2001 to 2011, and has contributed to many scholarly art publications, newspapers, and magazines. In 2014 Milroy curated From the Forest to the Sea: Emily Carr in British Columbia, and is currently working on exhibitions of Vanessa Bell and David Milne.

  • John O’Brian Director

    John O’Brian is Professor of Art History at the University of British Columbia. He has published more than a dozen books on modern and contemporary art, and has been professionally involved with numerous museums and art galleries. In 2009 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He received the Thakore Award in Human Rights and Peace Studies from Simon Fraser University and an honorary doctorate from Trinity College at the University of Toronto in 2011.

  • Doina Popescu Director

    Doina Popescu is the founding director of the Ryerson Image Centre, a contemporary art gallery at Ryerson University dedicated to photography and new media and focused on collecting, research, and exhibitions. She has spearheaded numerous critical arts publications. Prior to 2008 Popescu was the deputy director and program curator at the Goethe-Institut Toronto. She is an expert in international collaboration and dialogue, in institutional leadership, and is involved in projects that further education and understanding through the arts.

  • Sandra Simpson Director

    Sandra Simpson is a real estate investor, art collector, and philanthropist. She has served on numerous boards including the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Canadian Opera Company, The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, and Soulpepper Theatre Company. She was the owner and operator of S.L. Simpson Gallery, 1980–98. She then founded and directed The Locksley Project and Foundation to develop fundraising strategies for various cultural institutions. In 2007 she completed her MBA at the University of Toronto Rotman School of Management.

  • David P. Silcox Director

    David P. Silcox has written numerous art books and co-founded important arts festivals and events. He has held numerous positions, including acting as the first Arts Officer for the Canada Council; as Ontario Deputy Minister, Culture; and as President, Sotheby’s Canada. Currently Chairman of Canadian Friends of Dulwich Picture Gallery, London, Silcox has served on the boards of over thirty cultural organizations. He has received the Order of Canada, two honorary doctorates, the Governor General’s Visual Arts Award; and he has been a Senior Fellow at Massey College since 1991.

  • Stephen Smart Director

    Stephen Smart is an art consultant and retired lawyer, who built one of Canada’s most important corporate art collections at Osler Hoskin & Harcourt. As an advocate for the arts, Smart received the Founders Achievement Award in 2014 from the Toronto Friends of Visual Arts. Smart continues to impact the visual arts community in Toronto with his eponymous consultancy firm, in addition to acting as an independent curator, lecturer, mentor and private collector.

  • Nalini Stewart Director

    Nalini Stewart has held positions on local, provincial, and national boards in the arts and education for over twenty-five years. She is former Chair of the Ontario Arts Council and was President of the Canadian Club of Toronto. She is a founding member of the Asia Pacific Foundation, the Ontario Arts Foundation, the Ontario Cultural Attractions Fund, and the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery. Stewart is a recipient of the Order of Ontario.